Happy National Tell a Story Day!

It’s National Tell a Story Day! 

My blog theme is all about food, recipe, cooking, baking etc, but today I’d like to tell a story that made me wonder while talking with my dinner buddy the other day. 

In Japan, elementary school kids go to school in a group. The group consists of around 10 people aged from 6~12, and those who are the oldest become leaders. Every morning, these kids gather in a designated area and when everyone is there, we make a long single line and go to school together. A leader is in front of the line, and next is 1st grader, 2nd grader…and the last one is another leader. 

 

The front leader is responsible for making sure the way is clear, pacemaker, and make sure members, especially the 1st grader, are alright. When the signal is getting green and we’re a little far from that, the front leader shouts “we’re running!” and try everyone to cross the road at once(The group shouldn’t be separated no matter what the reason is, so it’s another responsibility that the leader watches for the timing of signal changes.)

 

The back leader is responsible for making sure our line is a beautiful single line. As Japanese roads are narrow and share lanes with bicycles, the line should stay as neat as possible, and when the bicycle comes from the back, the leader in the back must shout “bicycle is coming!” to make members aware of that. (similar thing happens when someone is walking their dogs. The back leader shouts “here comes a dog!” and every member cries “cuuuuute”)

 

I went to elementary school everyday like this, so I am a little bit jealous of American kids who go to school by riding the school bus or their parents drive them to school. When we got to school, we’re always a little sweaty from walking about 15 min under the already-waking-up-and-shining-so-brightly-summer-sun. 

 

Now, it’s the end of April. The Japanese academic calendar starts in April, so kids should be getting used to the new lifestyle…or not. Around the end of April or May, we often hear parents complain like this. 

 

“Omg, my kid came back crying again from the group! Now I have to drop them off at school.”

 

Usually under this situation they’re typically 1st graders, and they don’t mean they were bullied or anything… the top 3 reasons(under my observation) are below.

 

  1. They miss their mom/dad while heading to school. 
  2. They miss their pets.
  3. They just aren’t in the mood for going to school. 

 

As a result of this, the leader had to take the crying kids either to school by holding hands or sending the kids back to their house. If the kids chose to go back home, the leader had to run to school after that or share the ride with crying kids. 

 

I told this story to my dinner buddy who grew up in the US, but he didn’t get why it happens. The first thing is of course they go to school by parents’ car or bus, so it must be too far for kids’ feet so they gave up. The next thing is he simply never seen kids crying in the school missing their home. I talked about #3 above but he was like “then that kid gets a slap.” 

 

Now I’m curious, is my story familiar to you, or how did you go to school and how you felt about it, especially when you’re an elementary school student? I’m looking forward to your story!

 

As my blog theme is food, let me share old recipes too.

 

<Perfect Afterschool Treats Ideas>

Fruits jelly is kids’ favorite! Loquat

loquat

Or a little filling-good treats for the day’s reward! Banana Bread

banana bread

Do you remember how refreshing it was? Coke(please omit rum from this recipe!)

rum and coke

Enjoy home cooking and your own creation of homemade food:)

28 Comments Add yours

  1. dolphinwrite says:

    I think my first day of Kindergarten was a shock, as I remember, because my whole world before was my family, then it was all these strangers I never knew. Couple of days and we were settled.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Oh wow how lucky you are to remember the first day of kindergarten! I don’t remember that at all…the oldest memory is a bunch of kids already surrounding me🤣

      Like

  2. M. Lee Keena says:

    I am imagining little you, walking in line with all the other kids. I wish we had more structure when we were growing up. Most of us 1970s kids got to walk to school with their friends or by themselves. Scary thought but my friends and I used to save our lunch money so we could by treats from the store or the “ice-cream man!” Thank you for the cute story! Enjoy your day 🙂

    By the way, that banana bread is gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      OMG you reminded me another interesting story too! Kids bringing money is impossible in Japanese school…until they start going to high school😳 As soon as teachers found that, the parents would be called🤣 As it is good to be served school lunch, I think kids choosing their own meal is very good to learn independence and think about “balance”👍💕✨(and I’d do the same…after school ice cream win over lunch. This is what I call “balance”🤣)

      And thank you for compliment about banana bread🤗I wih I bake it again to send you as a gift❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. M. Lee Keena says:

        Balance 😹. I like your thinking. In junior high we had a snack bar and my mom would give me 2 dollars a day for lunch. I don’t think I ever spent it on lunch but always on ice cream and chips 🙊😬😅

        You are welcome 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura says:

    Great story I can imagine how much safer going in a group is. For me I moved a lot, my father was in the military, so in some areas we walked in others we rode a bus, it was dependent on how far away the school was. The only reason I cried when I walked to school was because I was bullied by other walking kids.

    When my son went to school, I drove him when he was young because that time period was when there were child abductions and I was divorced and feared his father would take him. As he got older the abduction threat wasn’t an issue
    and the school was close to home so he walked. In high school when we changed schools he rode his bike because there wasn’t a bus and I worked. After Christmas one year he went on his new skateboard, a bunch of boys grabbed and stole his new skateboard while he was on his way.

    Your story brought back lots of memories when I was in high school in one city, we lived about 3 miles from the school on the way home I passed a little food store, I’d stop and buy a favorite candy bar whenever I walked, if the weather was bad I took a city bus.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Hi Laura, thank you for sharing your story❤️

      First things first…I wish all those bullying kids and thief of your son’s skateboard regret what they did…kids sometimes can be so nasty😫

      And for buying snacks on the way back home, I’m jealous!!😂 Kids in Japan can’t bring money to school until they’re in high school. If they do, their parents would be called😌 Also I don’t think it happens today, but when I was in a snack store in my hometown, there was a kid who still had randseru backpack (a symbol for grade school kids) and trying to buy some snack. But a person at the store told the kids “did you go home first? If not, I can’t give this right now. Go home first and show you’re safe and happy to your mom or dad then come back” At that time I was sorry for the kids but as growing up, I think the person at the store did such a fantastic job. I don’t have kids yet but if future-my-kid don’t come back home on-time yet come back with an empty package of candy bar, he/she’d get a special detention🤣

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Laura says:

        I agree about the shop owner making sure the kids went home first, as a parent unless my son had told me before he left for school that he was going to be late and the reason, I would worry about his safety. I believe all parents everywhere has the right to know their children are okay, no matter the culture or the way they do things we all love our children and worry when things aren’t as they should be. I never knew the way that Japanese parents raised their children, I know everything that’s done has a long history and I know that the Japanese culture honors doing things the way that they always have in the belief that if it has always worked then it is beneficial. That is to be admired. I always know that bullied and thieves will regret what they’ve done because karma has a way of finding them. ❤️❣️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Tanooki says:

        Absolutely Laura!🙌💕✨

        Like

  4. Travtrails says:

    An interesting way to go to school. In India my younger sibling and me would walk to school. Would separate at their Boys school and then I would walk alone to my girls school , Convents divided by Church. This is old history in the 1960s😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Oh wow how cool!👀💕And you guys two come back home together? I bet on the way to home must be so fun to talk about what happened during the day in each boys/girls school❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Travtrails says:

        It sure was. We had company of neighbouring kids.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. jeremyjlhill says:

    I remember hating infant school in the UK and my mother used to leave me crying as the teacher dragged me into the classroom. Not so long along after buying a new property back home, I passed that school in a bus after going shopping. No bad memories, so not suffering from PTSD, but curious to know what it looks like now, so next time maybe I’ll get off the bus and go and look. Maybe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Haha~ yes that’s exactly what I had in my mind🤣 Sounds very familiar to me.

      And is the infant school still there? That’s so amazing👀💕 Since the birth rate keeps decreasing, my kindergarten closed its door about a decade ago😭 Yes you should definitely get off and take a look. Even though you have not-so-good memories there must be some good one too👍💕✨

      Like

  6. That sounds very organized, Tanooki. My schools in Germany were not like this at all. Most of us walked to elementary school, but each child came alone. Later on, I had to take a bus to high school, which was in another town. If I remember correctly, we had to stand in line before we were allowed to enter our class room, but that only happened in the first years of school.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Oh wow that sounds very interesting! Do you know what’s the reason why you had to stand in line? Maybe making sure if everyone isn’t missing?🤔

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think they made us stand in line and enter the classroom in an orderly fashion, instead of having everybody run through the door and to their seats. It was probably meant to teach us some discipline.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Tanooki says:

        Ah that’s understandable, and I think kids in your childhood learned how to behave with a good manner👀💕

        I’m sorry but I’m a brat…when the class is about to start and if the subject is math, I’d walk soooo slow with tiptoeing😂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I can relate to the math comment, too! 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Tanooki says:

        😂🙌💕

        Like

  7. chris ludke says:

    Very interesting! Good to hear it was so organized! When I was 4 my Mom told me to go to school and I knew where it was so I walked alone. She didn’t drive and the bus wasn’t picking me up. It was 5 blocks. I was scared at first but then started running wild all over town alone at a very young age and skipping school if I wanted to. Nothing bad happened to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Hi Chris!😊
      Wow it must have been a big adventure to little you👀✨ I’m so glad that anything bad happened to you👍 And do you remember if you got any reward for being brave? like cakes or cookies?🍰🧁🍪

      Liked by 1 person

      1. chris ludke says:

        oh hell no. no reward except freedom. I’m still running the streets and I’m getting old here. hahahahah Luckily the town was relatively safe. Later I heard of a pedophile but he wasn’t interested in girls.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Tanooki says:

        Oh no really!😱 Then yeah you must’ve been lucky then. I really hope that freedom is available to all kids. They’d love to exploring neighbor😆💕🎵

        Liked by 1 person

      3. chris ludke says:

        I had a weird childhood. It’s not safe to let kids run wild. I’m sure people called my Mom and Dad on me but my Mom said she “couldn’t handle me” (my Mom didn’t want kids) and my Dad told them, “If you try to rein her in she’ll bolt.” so I thought I could get away with anything because no one stopped me. I slipped through the cracks in the system. If I was born a black boy instead of a white girl I’d have been sent to juvie or my parents would have got in trouble.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Tanooki says:

        Oh wait whaaat!?😂 You’re so wild! But honestly kids learn better doing what they chose to do instead of their parents hovering around them and telling what they’re supposed to do all the time. But surely I’m glad you were not in touble👍

        Like

      5. chris ludke says:

        Thanks, Tanooki!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment