Chinese Broccoli Garlicky Stir Fry

I used to live with Chinese family when I was a college student. One day, they invited me for Chinese new year dinner.

There were a variety of food with meat, fish, and veggies. Everything was awesome, but my favorite was veggie garlic stir fry.

If you go to dim sum restaurant and give a glance to other table especially the one with Chinese family, the dish is almost always there. That means everyone loves the dish for its delicious taste, so you gotta try it too!

<Today’s Recipe>

Chinese Broccoli Garlicky Stir Fry

IMG_7880b

<Ingredients>

  • Some Chinese broccoli
    (I recommend to grab the amount you feel “Oh, am I going to cook too much?” As long as you add heat to the broccoli, you’ll know you worried too much :P) 
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • ¼ cup of water
  • 1 teaspoon of bonito stock
    (maybe original Chinese recipe don’t use it, but just small amount of bonito stock transform it to super delicious one!)

<Directions>

  1. WASH VEGGIES!
    Well this is fundamental direction that everyone already know and I don’t have to write as direction, but I watched some TV show that someone nearly died after eating leafy veggie. The reason was she got infection from snail that touched leafy veggie, so please wash, wash, WASH!!
  2. Cut veggies
    If you picked huge Chinese broccoli (lucky you!) cut into desired size. Slice garlic.
  3. Stir fry and steam cook veggies
    In a large pan, bring it medium heat and add olive oil and garlic.
    After few seconds to boost aroma of garlic, add Chinese broccoli. Cook it about 5 min, then add water and bonito stock.

    Cook until water boiled up, and your dish is ready to serve!chinese broccoli

I bought huge bag of Chinese broccoli the other day, but looks like I need to go there again to buy another huge bag of it!