Eggplant Parmesan

Happy post Thanksgiving! 

 

Until I turned 25 years old, today was the day I got to be super strong to stay awake until dawn, drive super heavy traffic around midnight, wait in a looong line to get in a shop, grab whatever I want in a super packed store, and wait in another looooong line to pay…yes, Black Friday shopping! Even if I didn’t want anything specific, I used to head to the shopping mall/outlet just because it was Black Friday. 

 

But, after I met my husband to be(if I’d tell myself back in time, I’d be super surprised!) he pointed out it’s not worth it to spend more time just waiting in a line to get the not-so-marked-down products(AKA excusing for aging so that not capable for the battle) but spend time in an almost empty hiking trail to recover from food coma, and how I spend my Black Friday changed from going shopping to stay home and get beautiful sleep, and heading to somewhere relaxing. 

 

As technology has been developed, we spend time in front of a computer and check whatever shopping site and enjoy window(s or mac) shopping;) Being at home’s best trait is that I can cook homemade food whenever we get hungry. And here it is! Since we are reducing meat consumption, there hasn’t been turkey in the last 5 years. With the help of people’s favorite, stretching, melting, mellow cheese, my post thanksgiving/fuel to online shopping is here to enjoy the holiday season! 

 

<Today’s Recipe>

Eggplant Parmesan

eggplant parmesan

<Ingredients>

  • 1 large eggplant – trim and slice in lengthwise
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3~5 mushroom – chopped
  • ¼ onion – chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • ½ cup marinara sauce
  • Some sliced cheese (I used gauda)
  • Some parmesan cheese – grated
  • Some bread crumbs
  • Some basil – shredded

 

<Directions>

  1. Pour olive oil in a large pan and pan fry eggplant until they are perfectly golden brown. Set aside.
  2. Pour olive oil in another pan and garlic to infuse aroma into oil. Add onion and cook for about 5 min. Add mushroom and cook for another 5 min.
  3. Pour marinara sauce and warm it up.
  4. Preheat the oven to 400°F.
  5. In an oven-safe pan, line eggplants and layer them with sliced cheese, marinara sauce. When you reach the top, sprinkle bread crumbs and parmesan cheese.
  6. Transfer the dish to the oven and bake it for about 15~20min.
  7. Sprinkle basil and enjoy!

*I recommend this with the side of Italian bread! 

eggplant parmesan

When you set a plate, marinara sauce and cheese is trying to cause an epic avalanche, but looks like a little mess can actually make a gorgeous look:) So don’t worry and just be brave when you transfer eggplants on your plate!:D

 

Have a happy post thanksgiving weekend, everyone!

 

<Other Food to Brighten Post Thanksgiving>

Easy but gorgeous soup from French cuisine! Onion Gratin Soup

onion gratin soup

Want some vegan oriental food? Crispy Cauliflower Chili Sauce

cauliflower chili sauce

If you are carnivore and got leftover turkey, make it CELTT! CELT Sandwich

CELT sandwich

Now smile with yummy food! 

 

Leave a comment