Wasabi Mayo Burdock Salad

Tomorrow is National Personal Chef Day, so how about thinking about yummy food today(haha, for me as usual) and building a meal plan for a relaxing weekend? 

 

I’m not “professional chef” with a required license, but by thinking about the definition of “personal chef”, yes I am! 

 

What is a personal chef?

A personal chef will prepare meals for private clients in home kitchens or commercial kitchens depending on their client’s needs or preferences. This can be done daily or the meals can be cooked, frozen and reheated weekly. (Source: Culinary Lab)

 

Sounds like it’s what I do. I prepare meals for my husband everyday based on his needs(veggies) and preferences(no raw tomatoes.) I was a little confused with “private chef” and “personal chef”, but since private chefs only do it for a single client rather than contract with multiple clients, it sounds like a personal chef is a perfect one for me because I sometimes cook for my father-in-law too. 

 

This is one of the salads I cook for my clients: my dinner buddy(husband) and his father. My father in law loves traditional Japanese food, I opted a rare ingredient in the US: Burdock(gobo) with creamy mayo dressing with a touch of tahini and wasabi. 

 

Does it sound unique and make you tempted to eat? Sure you do, so let’s see how I make it!

 

<Today’s Recipe>

Wasabi Mayo Burdock Salad

wasabi mayo burdock salad

<Ingredients>

*May contain Amazon Associate links. By clicking the links, they will take you to the specific Amazon.com product page and you’ll see what ingredients/tools are recommended for making the food of the day. As an Amazon Associate I will receive a very small commission from qualifying purchases.

 

<Directions>

  1. Cook burdock. Fill water in a pan and bring it to boil. Add burdock and cook for 1 min. Drain.
  2. Combine everything together in a mixing bowl and toss well.
  3. Transfer to a bowl and enjoy!

 

<Cooking Tips>

If you want to make it kids friendly, reduce the amount of wasabi paste. I’m not saying omit, just reduce it…wasabi in this salad is the key to make it so good!

wasabi mayo burdock salad

And yes, after I shot a couple more photos, it’s packed in a plastic container and ready to be shipped to my father in law. (Tanooki’s job title: Personal chef/TanooUber driver)

 

It’s a popular salad in Japan, but as it contains tahini, it’s creamier, and the wasabi flavor gives a nice jab to your taste buds. If you’ve never tried burdock, trust me, you’ll be enjoying its unique texture while you’re chewing burdocks! 

 

<Ingredients memo: Burdock>

burdock

Some people may wonder what the burdock tastes like. Burdock has a unique earthy flavor with a crisp texture. For the texture, I think jicama is similar but burdock texture is much stronger, as burdocks are known as a great source of fiber. We as Japanese like to make kinpira, salad, tempura, or just simmer them with thinly sliced beef with the holy trinity of Japanese seasonings: soy sauce, sake and sugar.

 

If burdock isn’t packaged in a plastic container, its length is kept 8~10 inches long for easy handling, but if it’s just wrapped in a plastic wrap, they’re about 36 inches long. Therefore, if it’s sold by its weight, you’ll see a cashier break it into 2~3 parts by folding it to properly weight it, or someone who bought it do the same because simply they don’t fit in a car or basket in front of a bicycle. As a result, I used to hear kids’ screaming like “Nooooooo!” Wondering why? Since burdock is nice and long, kids love to play a hero with the burdock as an imaginary giant sword.

 

I hope you guys have a chance to try some burdock! Have a wonderful weekend. Cheers!

 

<Other Yummy Japanese Food>

For meat eaters, you can’t miss it! Beef Bowl

beef bowl

Bursting flavor! Stuffed Rolled Cabbage Ginger Dashi Sauce

stuffed roll cabbage ginger bonito sauce

How about traditional dessert? Matcha Warabi Mochi

matcha warabi mochi

Enjoy home cooking and your own creation of homemade food:)

 

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks delicious! Do you use raw tahini?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Hi dear! I checked what the ingredient fact says, but I couldn’t find the info of telling if it’s raw or not. Or it says they use hulled sesame seeds… I wonder if it means raw?🤔

      By the way, I actually never cared if tahini is raw or not…raw sounds healthy, and toasted sounds extra aromatic👀✨ Which one do you recommend?🤩

      Liked by 1 person

  2. johnrieber says:

    This is a unique product that isn’t used as widely as it could…I also think that Celery Root is underutilized as well…terrific recipes as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Ah! Your comment caught me! I think I never used celery root. Does it taste same as celery stalk? And how do you use it?👀💕✨

      Liked by 1 person

      1. johnrieber says:

        Tanooki, it has a nuttier flavor but similar to be sure…you peel it and then dice it with mayonnaise and lemon, served everywhere in Paris!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Tanooki says:

        Aww, thank you for letting me know that the existence of gem! I’ll try it soon🤩

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds delicious and healthy – right up my street!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Tanooki says:

      Hehe yay! Thank you Jeremy! I hope you’re having a wonderful time in Japan…now the big news shook all Japan huh?😳

      Like

  4. elvira797mx says:

    Wow! Looks delicious!!! I love wasabi! Excellent option! Thank’s for share dear personal Chef!
    Congratulations! Deat Tanooki, your blog is great!
    Have a lovely day! Enjoy your coffee and tea.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Thank you so much Elvira❤️ I hope you had amazing weekend too👍💕✨

      Like

      1. elvira797mx says:

        You are welcome, dear Tanooki.💖
        Yes, thanks, hope you as well 👍💕✨☕

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Livia says:

    That salad looks and sounds very delicious 🤩 thank you for sharing this recipe.
    I don’t know if we have Burdock available here but since we have Jicama (and also celery root, which johnrieber proposed), I’d just try to use one of those if I can’t find the Burdock. 😉👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Ah that’s great idea! Wow you and john knew that veg so well! I’m following after you guys soon!🤩

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ist bestimmt sehr scharf 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Danke sehr❤️❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve never tried burdock, but it sounds like something my tastebuds will love 😁 and tahini it’s sooo yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Aww, thank you dear! Yes hopefully you can try burdock sometime soon…try going to Asian grocery, they should have some available👍💕✨

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I only know of burdock as a pesky plant with sticky fruits. I had never heard that burdock root is edible. The combination with wasabi and carrots sounds very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tanooki says:

      Haha it’s funny but I only know about burdock roots but not fruit🤣 We’re in a totally opposite situation😂 Do you see burdock plant in your neighbor? I just looked them up again online but I admit, that fruit is new to me…If someone say it’s burdock plant, I’d not believe what he/she says because they’re not attached in my mind😁

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad they aren’t attached in your mind. I have definitely had the fruit attach to my clothes–they stick like velcro! Maybe there are different kinds of burdock.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Tanooki says:

        Yes, maybe…I’m a little sad because that burdock fruit doesn’t seem like edible😵‍💫

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment